AFSCME Council 5 Retirees United

2016 RU Convention highlights

 More than 45 members, alternates and guests of AFSCME Retirees United Chapter 5 gathered at Council 5 offices for their second biennial convention. All were treated to welcoming addresses by Council 5 vice-president, Michael Lindholdt and Council 5 Executive Director Eliot Seide. A special guest addressing the delegates was Lt. Governor Tina Smith who thanked the delegates for their support and pledged that she & Governor Dayton are partners with AFSCME in making Minnesota work for all of Minnesota. A workshop on the future of Social Security was presented by Tom Beer & Mike Nelson and resolutions supporting Social Security were passed unanimously by the convention.

Elections were held for the chair officers of the Chapter, Executive Board Members from each of the sub-chapters and trustees. Re-elected as President was Jeff Bertinen; Vice President, Peggy Kerber; Secretary, Geri Dale; Treasurer, Steve Barrows; Trustees, Jeanette Burfeind, Suzanne Edwardy & Kathi Nichols. Executive Board Members: Judie Atkins, East Met sub chapter; Mike Nelson, West Met sub Chapter; Kiley Breda, Central Lakes sub Chapter; Ross Anderson, NE sub chapter; Jean Miller, Best of the West; and Tammy Oachs, South 6th. Sub Chapter.

Congratulations to those elected and thank you to all who participated in the convention.

Follow Us!

Sign Up
Remember me